FAQ

Some frequently asked questions about DUI in Utah. If you have specific questions or would like more information, please contact us.

Q: Who is killed in drunk driver crashes?

A: Most often, it is the drunk driver or his/her passenger.

Of the 45 drunk driver crash deaths in 2014, 22 (49%) were to the drunk driver, 8 (18%) deaths were to passengers of the drunk driver, 9 (20%) were occupants of other vehicles and 6 (13%) were non-motorists.

Over the past 19 years, 62% of deaths involving drunk drivers were to the drunk driver, 19% of deaths were to passengers of the drunk driver, 14% of deaths were to occupants of another vehicle in the crash and 5% were to non-motorists.

Q: What happens if I refuse a breath or blood test?

A: You technically can't refuse and if you do, your license will be revoked for 18 months.

Utah has an "implied consent" law - this means that by driving in Utah, you are considered to have given your consent to a chemical test or tests to determine if you're driving under the influence. If you refuse a breath or blood test, law enforcement officers can obtain an electronic warrant to draw your blood.

Q: Can you get a DUI for having drugs in your system?

A: Yes.

Utah's code 41-6a-517 states that a person may not operate a vehicle with any measureable controlled substance or metabolite of a controlled substance in their body. So someone who may have smoked marijuana in Colorado can get a DUI in Utah if s/he tests positive for THC metabolite in a blood test, even if some time has elapsed since they used the drug. Read an article about the scenario here.

Q: How much does a DUI cost someone?

A: $10,00.

That's the estimated cost of all the fines and fees you'll face for a DUI. It includes everything from the impound fee (because your car will be impounded) to attorney fees to ignition interlock device installment and monitoring to license reinstatement.

Q: What is an ignition interlock device?

A: A device that requires a breath sample to prevent a person who is drunk from driving. Watch a video showing how one works.

It does so by requiring the driver to blow into a breath alcohol sensor connected to the vehicles ignition system before the vehicle's engine will start. The interlock system ensures that the vehicle cannot be started or driven by a person who has been drinking. Test results and other collected data provide program administrators with a range of information to monitor offender behavior during the period the device is installed.

Q: What is an Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver?

A: Someone who was arrested for DUI and now cannot drive a vehicle that doesn't have an ignition interlock device.

They have to have an ignition interlock installed on any vehicle they own or operate for a minimum of 18 months. If they drive without one, their license will be revoked for one year.

They have to pay for the installation and the monitoring which is performed by an independent party. You can view a list of approved interlock providers for Utah here.